Acting President Mphoko for Bikita West star rally

Source: Acting President Mphoko for Bikita West star rally | The Herald January 16, 2017

Walter Mswazie Masvingo Correspondent
ZANU-PF has intensified campaigns ahead of Saturday’s Bikita West by-election, with Acting President Phelekezela Mphoko set to headline the final star rally on Wednesday.

The Bikita West seat fell vacant following the incarceration of the constituency’s MP, Munyaradzi Kerek,e in July last year on rape charges.

Masvingo acting provincial chairman Cde Amasa Nhenjana said they have also lined up a number of ward-based rallies.

He said preparations for the star rally to be addressed by Acting President Mphoko on Wednesday were at an advanced stage.

“We have done a lot of ground work to retain Bikita West. As I am speaking, there are a number of ward-based campaign rallies being held and on Wednesday (this) week we will have our Acting President Cde Mphoko at Nyika Growth Point in Bikita for the final star rally,” said Cde Nenjana.

“Remember we had the first star rally last week where the Acting President Cde Emmerson Mnangagwa addressed thousands of supporters at Gwindingwi High School,” he said.

He said national political commissar Cde Saviour Kasukuwere would accompany Acting President Mphoko to Bikita.

“This will be the last star rally before the by-election on Saturday where we will urge all registered voters in Bikita West constituency to throng polling stations in their wards to cast their votes,” Cde Nhenjana said.

Bikita West Zanu-PF candidate Cde Beauty Chabaya promised to address the issue of roads and improve education in her constituency if voted into Parliament.

“I promise my constituency that if I am voted into Parliament I will address the issue of the poor road network, improve education by making sure there is adequate furniture and computers. I will also facilitate the electrification of all schools so that they can be connected to the internet for easy access to information by school pupils and teachers. The issue of boreholes to address water challenges will also be key,” said Cde Chabaya.

Five other candidates – Mr Kudakwashe Gopo (ZimPF), Mr Heya Shoko (Independent), Mr Madock Chivasa (NCA), Mr Terence Tanyaradzwa Makumbo (Progressive Democrats of Zimbabwe (PDZ) and Mr Innocent Muzvimbiri (Independent) – will contest in the by-election.