Forex allocation committee named 

Source: Forex allocation committee named | The Herald January 5, 2019

Forex allocation committee namedProfessor Mthuli Ncube

Herald Reporter
A nine-member foreign currency allocation committee has been appointed with representation from critical ministries and the Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe, Minister of Finance and Economic Development Prof Mthuli Ncube announced last night.

The committee was one of the reform measures announced in the National Budget Statement presented to Parliament on November 22 2018. The Budget proposed to “establish a strong inclusive framework, through an interim foreign currency allocation committee, with broader representation as was the case in the past”.

In line with that policy, the minister announced the following members of the new committee. The committee will be co-chaired by senior officials from the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development and the RBZ.

Office of the President and Cabinet

  1. Mr A. Chikondo

Ministry of Finance and Economic Development

  1. Mr Z. R. Churu
  2. Mr D. Muchemwa

Ministry of Industry and Commerce

  1. Mrs F. Makombe

Ministry of Energy and Power Development

  1. Col M Mudzinganyama

Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe

  1. Mr A. Saburi
  2. Mr F. Masendu
  3. Mr G. Mawire
  4. Mr E. Matiza


  • comment-avatar
    Flick 4 years ago

    Pray, tell me, what this will achieve. They will not magic up the amount of foreign currency available by legitimate means and they will have no control over the illegitimate supply. Which means they will be open to favouritism and corruption.