Kasukuwere overturns Chigwedere ouster

via Kasukuwere overturns Chigwedere ouster | The Herald April 16, 2015 by Felex Share

Zanu-PF Secretary for the Commissariat Cde Saviour Kasukuwere yesterday dismissed the ouster of the revolutionary party’s acting chairperson for Mashonaland East Cde Aeneas Chigwedere as “null and void”.

He warned other provincial chairpersons against taking actions beyond their powers.

The Mashonaland East Province interim executive committee on Monday passed a vote of no confidence in Cde Chigwedere on various charges including failure to convene meetings and making unilateral decisions.

Provincial Affairs Minister Cde Joel Biggie Matiza, who deputised Cde Chigwedere in the provincial party structure, had been appointed acting chairperson.

“Cde Matiza’s action on Cde Chigwedere is null and void,” he said. “Chairpersons of provinces must desist from taking actions beyond their powers without reference to the national leadership. Negative publicity being generated by provinces is not accep- table.”

Cde Kasukuwere said all recommendations must be forwarded to the national leadership before inappropriate statements were issued to the media.

Cde Chigwedere was also accused of failing to introduce Cde Jonathan Samkange from Mudzi and Cde Tendai Garwe from Murehwa, who were recently re-admitted into the party.

The provincial interim executive committee also recommended the expulsion of five senior party members and five-year suspensions of 14 others.

The five senior members are Marondera National Assembly representative and former provincial chairman Cde Ray Kaukonde, Uzumba legislator and former Minister of State for Mashonaland East Cde Simbaneuta Mudarikwa, Murehwa North MP Tendai Makunde, Mashonaland East senator Cde Olivia Muchena, who is also former Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology Development; and Goromonzi South MP Petronella Kagonye, who is the former Deputy Minister of Transport and Infrastructure Development.

Those who have been recommended for five-year suspensions from the party are Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation Development responsible for Livestock Production and Goromonzi North MP Cde Paddy Zhanda, Maramba-Pfungwe MP Cde Washington Musvaire, Seke MP Cde Phenias Chihota, Chikomba MP Cde Felix Mhona and Goromonzi West MP Cde Beater Nyamupinga.

Former provincial executive members recommended for five-year suspensions are Cdes George Katsande, Lucky Kandemiri, Vernon Muringayi, John Mushayi, Peter Murwira, Marble Kavindikisa, Taurayi Pasirayi, Getrude Mariwo and Lillian Zemura.