Mozambique: Political dialogue to continue on Tuesday

Maputo (AIM) – The political dialogue between the Mozambican government and the opposition party Renamo continues on Tuesday in Maputo.

Source: Mozambique: Political dialogue to continue on Tuesday – The Zimbabwean 10.08.2016

The discussions restarted on Monday after international mediators arrived back in the country following a short break due to “logistical reasons”.

The political dialogue in the presence of the mediators began on 20 July but reached an impasse on the first item on the agenda. This is the demand by Renamo that it rules in the provinces where it claims to have won the 2014 elections. Mozambique has eleven provinces and Renamo wants to take power in the central and northern provinces of Manica, Sofala, Tete, Zambezia, Nampula, and Niassa.

Therefore, on 27 July the spokesperson for the mediators, Mario Raffaelli explained that there would be break was for logistical reasons.

Mario Raffaelli has been described by some as the mediator’s leader. Therefore there has been speculation about his absence yesterday. The mediator’s press briefing after the meeting was headed by the former president of Botswana, Quett Masire.

Unlike previous meetings, the mediators were the first to leave the conference room. Quett Masire told reporters that the round of talks had been “satisfactory” and that the next sitting will to on Tuesday.

Shortly afterwards the two delegations to the Joint Commission left without making any statements.

The Joint Commission is composed of six representatives from the government and six from Renamo. Its formal role is to create the conditions for a meeting between President Filipe Nyusi and Renamo leader Afonso Dhlakama.

Not all of the mediators are able to participate in all the rounds of dialogue. However, the full list of mediators available is: Ketumile Masire (Global Leadership Foundation); Jakaya Kikwete (Tanzania); Ibrahim Msambaho (Tanzania); Angelo Romano (European Union); Mario Raffaelli (European Union); Sir Robin Christopher (Global Leadership Foundation); Jonathan Powell (Inter Mediate); Thanduyise Chiliza (South Africa), Mandlenkosi Memela, and George Johannes (deputy representatives for South Africa); Edgar Pena Parra (Apostolic Nuncio to Mozambique); Joao Carlos Hatoa Nunes (secretary of the Mozambique Episcopal Conference); the Ambassador of the European Union; and Mandisi Mpahlwa (the South African High Commissioner).