Parties readying for by-elections

The National Constitutional Assembly (NCA) and the Renewal Democrats of Zimbabwe (RDZ) will square up with Zanu PF in the Norton and Bikita West by-elections, which are expected to be held soon.

Source: Parties readying for by-elections – NewsDay Zimbabwe August 4, 2016


The Norton seat became vacant after Christopher Mutsvangwa was expelled from Zanu PF, while Bikita West legislator Munyaradzi Kereke was jailed for an effective 10 years after being convicted of raping his minor niece.

NCA national co-ordinator Madock Chivasa said his party had started selection of candidates for the by-elections.

“We are contesting both by-elections and so far we have an understanding that I will be the candidate in Bikita West while the party organs are still deliberating on the candidate for Norton,” Chivasa said.

RDZ president Elton Mangoma confirmed that his party would take part in one of the by-elections.

“The RDZ is still consulting on who will be our candidate for Bikita West constituency. We will, however, be not fielding a candidate in Norton,” Mangoma said.

The RDZ last month participated and lost in the Mazowe North by-election, which was won by Zanu PF candidate Martin Dinha by a wide margin.

Former Zanu PF Mashonaland West provincial chairman Temba Mliswa will also contest the Norton seat as an independent candidate.

Other opposition parties like MDC-T have been boycotting polls since the 2013 general elections citing the need for comprehensive electoral reforms before they could participate.

On the other hand, Zanu PF Mashonaland West and Masvingo provincial structures have started candidate selection and were expected to announce the party primaries dates soon.

Zanu Mashonaland West provincial chairman Ephraim Chengeta said nine people had shown an interest in contesting primaries to replace Mutsvangwa.

Masvingo provincial commissar Jeppy Jaboon said the province had cleared four candidates to contest primary elections from a list of 10 that had shown an interest in representing the party.
The four successful candidates who will square off in the primaries were Retired Brigadier General Gibson Mashingaidze, Beauty Chabaya, Joshua Dhewa and Jeffry Murire.