Why Mutsvangwa was expelled

Source: Why Mutsvangwa was expelled | The Sunday Mail July 10, 2016

Kuda Bwititi Chief Reporter
War veterans chairman, Ambassador Christopher Mutsvangwa, has formally received communication that he has been booted out of Zanu-PF, together with 27 others who had appealed against either their expulsion or suspension from the party. Yesterday, the group was officially notified of their fate.Ambassador Mutsvangwa’s wife, Monica, had her suspension period reduced from three years to two years.

Ambassador Mutsvangwa, who is the National Assembly legislator for Norton, now risks being recalled from the legislative assembly following his expulsion from Zanu PF.

Zanu PF Secretary for Administration, Cde Ignatuis Chombo told The Sunday Mail that he had sent letters to 28 members, informing them of the decisions taken by the party following last week’s Politburo meeting that received recommendations from the Disciplinary Appeals and Review Committee of the Central Committee (DARCC).

Vice President Phelekezela Mphoko chairs the DARCC, which was set up at the instigation of President Mugabe for party members who felt aggrieved after being expelled or suspended from the party.

Cdes Jason Machaya and Chiratidzo Mabhuwa had their suspensions lifted, rendering them free to hold positions in the party.

Former Politburo members Cdes Webster Shamu, Nicholas Goche, Tendai Savanhu, Francis Nhema and Flora Bhuka are among 11 cadres who will have to wait a bit longer as their cases were referred back to the National Disciplinary Committee (NDC).

The other members whose cases were referred back to the NDC are Cdes Noah Mangondo, Killian Gwanetsa, Trynos Huruva, Boniface Karoro, Happiness Nyakuendzwa and Christopher Chigumba.

In a letter to Ambassador Mutsvangwa that was seen by The Sunday Mail, Cde Chombo said the party had resolved to expel the war vets’ chair because he had remained unrepentant.

“Having gone through your appeal, the committee found that you were neither apologetic nor remorseful in your behaviour.

You continued to denigrate senior party leaders, bringing Zanu PF into disrepute.

“Your actions and utterances violated the mended Zanu PF Constitution Article 28, Section 262 read in conjunction with Article 3 Section 21. Leading to our expulsion,” the letter read in part.

Cde Chombo said Cde Monica Mutsvangwa had her sentence reduced to two years after she had been suspended by the Manicaland Province Women’s league for gross indiscipline.

The Zanu PF National Secretary for Administration said appeals by 13 expelled youths had been thrown out after the charges against them were upheld for gross indiscipline and misconduct.

The youths are Godfrey Gomwe (Harare) Godfrey Tsenengamu (Mashonaland Central), Vengai Musengi (Mashonaland West), Everest Makururu (Youth in Mining) Edmore Samambwa (Midlands), Washington Nkomo (Matabeleland), Tamuka Nyoni (Matabelenand North), Khumbulani Mpofu (Bulawayo) Absolom Madudise (Zimbabwe National Youths Service Graduates Association), Gabriel Togarepi (ZILIWACO Trust), Innocent Mhalanga (Children of War Veterans) Memory Masengu (Youth Against Sanctions) and Coleen Machingura (Youth in Farming).

The Minister of State for Midlands Province, Cde Machaya and Deputy Minister of Industry and Commerce, Cde Mabuwa, had their suspensions lifted owing to weak evidence.

In Cde Mabuwa’s case, it was observed that the Mberengwa South legislator was out of the country when she was alleged to have held an illegal meeting.

“The decision was arrived at after thorough consideration and review of your case where it was established that you were out of the country on the date it was alleged that you held an unsanctioned meeting,” read the letter to Cde Mabuwa.

According to Zanu PF’s constitution, decisions rendered by the DARCC may be appealed against through the Congress Ad Hoc Appeals Committee as provided for in Article 10, Section 76.

The committee is expected to meet this week to consider more appeals as over 60 people have submitted their applications.

Members of the committee are Cdes Jacob Mudenda (Matabeleland North), Paul Mangwana (Masvingo), Ellen Gwaradzimba (Manicaland), Absolom Sikhosana (Bulawayo), Tabeth Kanengoni Malinga (Mashonaland Central), Sydney Sekeramayi (Mashonaland East) , Dr Douglas Mombeshora (Mashonaland West), Tambudzani Mohadi (Matabeleland South), Melody Dziva, (Midlands) and Sabina Thembani (Harare).