Young Sables squad named

via Young Sables squad named – NewsDay Zimbabwe July 22, 2015 by Daniel Nhakaniso

THE Zimbabwe Rugby Union (ZRU) has named an enlarged provisional squad for the Africa Rugby Under-19 Championships to be held in the country during the weeks of August 24 and 29.

Zimbabwe will host the four-team regional tournament featuring Namibia, Uganda and Kenya, with the winner earning the right to represent the continent at the 2016 Junior World Rugby Trophy.

ZRU selectors have cast their net wider to ensure the country has a strong squad for the tournament by including a host of former schoolboys now plying their trade at universities in South Africa and the United Kingdom.

Amongst the UK-based contingent vying for a final place in the Young Sables squad are scrumhalf Ngoni Zinyama and highly rated center Dean McRoberts, who is part of the Leicester Tigers Academy squad.

The Young Sables squad, which is expected to camp from August 10, boasts of several South Africa-based players who were part of last year’s Under-18 Craven Week squad.

Former Young Sables captain Stephen Bhasera, who is part of the Golden Lions Under-19 setup headlines the South African contingent which includes Sharks Under-19 prop Justin Mendlehson and Free State-based flank Daniel Nyamugama.

In an interview with NewsDay Sport, Zimbabwe Under-19 coach Brendon Brider, who will be assisted by Bob Mahari said they would pull all the stops to ensure the Young Sables qualify.

“We definitely have to qualify for the Junior World Rugby Trophy. It was my main goal when I was appointed and we will work hard to ensure we achieve that objective. We certainly have the talent to achieve that goal,” he said.

Zimbabwe have failed to qualify for the last three four editions of the Junior World Rugby Trophy to rivals Namibia with their last appearance coming at the 2012 edition of the competition held in the USA.

Zimbabwe Under-19 Provisional Squad

Forwards: J Mendlehson (Sharks), B Muntanga (Falcon), S Bhasera (University of Johannesburg), T Chikwezvero (Maritzburg), T Msasanure (Christain Brothers), J Makoni (Prince Edward), L Kenny (St Georges, P Sora (Prince Edward), S Magwenzi (Churchill), N Burger (St Johns), G Mangenje (Prince Edward), T Bwerinofa (Kyle College), T Zhoya (University of Johannesburg), L Butler (Falcon), R Morley (Stellenbosch University), C Pritchard (Falcon), D Nyamugama (Free State), E Zingari (Milton), T Muchena (St Johns), M Shioma (Limpopo), C Bond (St Johns), T Gonese (Peterhouse), R Jiri (Dale College), K Ndoro (Prince Edward), K Chisango (St Georges), L Fargnoli (Falcon College)
Backs: J Gando (Lomagundi College), N Zinyama (UK), C Nyakudya (Falcon College), E Mudzengerere (Prince Edward), R Elliot (Durban), T Gamanya (Kyle College), T Moses (Prince Edward), S Snyder (Falcon College), N Nyangwe (Peterhouse), A Bruce ( St Georges), T Vheriwa (Peterhouse), D McRoberts (UK), K Munangi (Maritzburg), T Ngosi (Durban), T Mapfumo (St Georges), B Matoramusha (Prince Edward), F Murinye (Kyle College), S Katsvere (Prince Edward), R Chionyere (Churchill), S Phiri (Falcon), B Maupa, G Mavara (Dale College)