Tsvangirai announces shadow cabinet

via Tsvangirai announces shadow cabinet — Nehanda Radio By Lance Guma SEPTEMBER 18, 2013

The Movement for Democratic Change (MDC) leader Morgan Tsvangirai has today announced a shadow cabinet that he says will keep President Robert Mugabe’s government on its toes and ensure they meet their commitments to the people of Zimbabwe.

Tsvangirai said the shadow cabinet will periodically review the performance of Mugabe’s Government and through various forums in parliament and outside parliament and also work with MPs and local authorities throughout the country “to ensure the delivery of services and development assistance.”

The former Prime Minister said “our shadow Cabinet is not an exact mirror of Mr Mugabe’s bloated structure but it incorporates all government functions represented by his Cabinet.”

Tsvangirai said he would not mirror the “Ministers of State for Provincial Affairs” as this was a “dictatorial structure designed to subvert the will and desire of the people of Zimbabwe for an elected devolved government.”

He said he remained committed to “real devolution and a lean Central Executive structure of 21 that is accountable to the people and responsive to their needs. The first task of this shadow Cabinet will be to review the agenda that Mr Mugabe outlined yesterday (in parliament) and respond accordingly.”

The Shadow Cabinet system is a feature of the British political system where a opposition spokespeople under the leadership of the Leader of the Opposition, form an alternative cabinet to that of the government, and whose members shadow or mark each individual member of the Cabinet.

Below are the MDC-T shadow cabinet ministers

1.    International Relations and Cooperation: Gordon Moyo

2.    Tourism, Environment and Natural Resources: Thamsanqa Mahlangu

3.    Finance and Economic Development: Tendai Biti

4.    Defence: Gift Chimanikire

5.    Health and Child Welfare: Ruth Labode

6.    Basic Education: Concilia Chinanzvavana

7.    Higher Education Science and Technology: Dr Matarutse

8.    Local Government: Sesel Zvidzai

9.    Transport: Elias Mudzuri

10. Communications: Nelson Chamisa

11. Mines and Minerals Development: Abednico Bhebhe

12. Energy and Power Development: Morgen Komichi

13. Agriculture, Land and Water Development: Sipepa Nkomo

14. Justice Legal and ParliamentaryAffairs: Jessie Majome

15. Home Affairs: Lilian Timveos

16. Industry and Commerce: Tapiwa Mashakada

17. Labour, Employment and Social Security: Paurina Mpariwa

18. Women’s Affairs, Gender and Community Development: Lucia Matibenga

19. Youth, Sport, Arts & Culture: Solomon Madzore

20. Public Works and National Housing: Joel Gabbuza

21. Planning Commission: Jameson Timba, Theresa Makone, Douglas Mwonzora, Tongai Matutu and Elton Mangoma

To contact this journalist e-mail lance@nehandaradio.com



  • comment-avatar
    Sekuru Mapenga 9 years ago

    This is a good idea and I hope that there will be cooperation between the cabinet and the shadow cabinet and not just endless bickering and political rivalry.

  • comment-avatar
    Tjingababili 9 years ago


  • comment-avatar

    Benzi remunhu. Shadow cabinet of some people who are not even in Parliament of Senate? How do they shadow?