Biti to be Renewal Team’s first president

via Biti to be Renewal Team’s first president – NewsDay Zimbabwe July 10, 2015

FORMER MDC-T secretary-general Tendai Biti is set to be the MDC Renewal Team’s first president following his nomination for the post in the ongoing provincial conventions to select provincial and national leaders ahead of the party’s congress to be held on July 30.

by Everson Mushava

So far, Harare, Chitungwiza and Mutare have nominated Biti.

Renewal Team spokesperson Jacob Mafume refused to disclose information on Biti’s nomination, but NewsDay was reliably informed that the provinces were nominating him to be the president of the party which will assume a new name after the congress.

Mafume confirmed Renewal members were voting for a new name between the two proposed ones: People Democratic Party and Orange Democratic Party.

The Renewal Team has been run by an interim executive since it weaned itself from the Morgan Tsvangirai led-MDC-T last year.

A party official said Biti has been nominated to be the president, deputised by Samuel Sipepa Nkomo while Gorden Moyo would be the secretary-general and deputised by Tongai Matutu.

Former MDC-T women’s assembly boss Lucia Matibenga was nominated as chairperson), Last Maengehama (vice-chairperson) Solomon Madzore (national organising secretary), Reggie Moyo (vice organising secretary) and Jacob Mafume (secretary for information and publicity).

Former Mbizo MP Settlement Chikwinya was nominated secretary for elections, Willias Madzimure (international relations), Evelyn Masaiti (women affairs) and Benson Ntini treasurer, the official said.

Mafume confirmed the conventions were held to select provincial and national leadership ahead of the party’s national congress but refused to give details saying he would rather wait until the process was over.

“We did for Harare, Chitungwiza and Mutare. All the provinces will send the schedules and then their nominations. The meetings are being attended by district structures and the interim provincials,” Mafume said.

He said the on-going conventions will also select a new party name, logo and new colours, although indications were high that the orange colour would be retained.

“We will also seek a mandate to work on a national policy document to answer the hopeless ZimAsset (Zanu PF economic blueprint),” Mafume said.

“Chitungwiza maintained its interim structure chaired by Tineyi Munetsi. Harare elected Frank Chamunorwa to be their new chairperson replacing Paul Madzore. Moses Manyengavana was elected to replace Madzimure as provincial secretary. Harare also nominated Taurai Everson and Nelly Mutandwa to the national executive while Chitungwiza nominated Jairos Karimatsenga,” Mafume said.

Yesterday, the Renewal Team took the conventions to Masvingo, and will proceed to Matabeleland and Midlands regions today until next Monday and then to Mashonaland where they will conclude with Mashonaland Central on July 16.

The congress will be held without Elton Mangoma, who formed his own party after a fallout with Biti and allegations of having an extramarital affair with the wife of a national youth executive member Believe Tevera.

Mangoma was instrumental in the formation of the Renewal Team after they broke ranks with Tsvangirai accusing him of dictatorial tendencies, womanising and being a bad organiser.