Zanu PF wins Chikanga, rivals cry foul

via Zanu PF wins Chikanga, rivals cry foul – New Zimbabwe 11/06/2015

MUTARE: ZANU PF Central Committee member and business mogul, Esau Mupfumi, is now the new legislator for Chikanga-Dangamvura constituency after winning Wednesday’s by-election.

Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) Provincial Election Officer, Moffat Masabeya, said Mupfumi romped to victory with 6,376 votes.

Mupfumi beat Chengetai Kadzere (independent) who polled a paltry 192 votes and Fugamai Mawire (Mavambo Kusile Dawn) who managed 254 votes.

Other candidates are Kuzima Maundike (independent) polled 707 votes while Gamuchirai Piwai of Freedom Front polled 125. Little known Maxwell Teedzai of Transform Zimbabwe managed 32 votes.

Ruramai Musiiwa of National Constitutional Assembly (NCA) polled 1,003 while James Mundenda (independent) managed 144 votes.

“The election went on well and we had no cases or reports of violence across the constituency,” said Masabeya while addressing media.

Mupfumi promised to deal with the water and electricity crisis bedevilling Chikanga-Dangamvura constituency for years.

He also promised to tackle the issue of unpaid council workers, saying he would work with the local authority to find a long lasting solution to the challenges affecting council operations.

“I am happy that people have shown confidence in my leadership. They deserve better and I will work hard to fulfil their dreams, “said Mupfumi.

But Chengetai Kadzere, one of the independent candidates, said the by-election was a farce. He cited a number of irregularities which occurred saying no action was taken.

“People were being intimidated and had their names written down outside polling stations after voting. Is this fair? Can we say the election was credible?

“I don`t think so. Leave people to make their own choices,” said Kadzere in an interview with New

He said there was need for serious reforms if Zimbabwe is to hold free and credible elections.

The by-election was held to replace Arnold Tsunga of MDC-T who was recalled by his party after joining a rebellion against leader Morgan Tsvangirai.