Mnangagwa scoffs at rift reports

via Mnangagwa scoffs at rift reports | The Herald

Zanu-PF Secretary for Legal Affairs Cde Emmerson Mnangagwa has dismissed stories that there are divisions in the revolutionary party. Speaking during the party’s victory celebrations in Ward 31 Chirumhanzu- Zibagwe constituency at the weekend, Cde Mnangagwa said reports of divisions in Zanu-PF existed in the Press.

“I read that through newspapers, no one has said that there are divisions in Zanu-PF.  I have never said that. The Press creates such statements and believes them. We are so united in Zanu-PF. People share different views in the party and it’s healthy for the party,” he said.

His comments come in the wake of reports in the private media that the revolutionary party was divided into two factions led by Cde Mnangagwa and Vice President Joice Mujuru.

Both leaders have repeatedly denied that they are factions in the party. Cde Mnangagwa took a dig at the MDC-T for trying to manipulate the results of the harmonised elections.

“This is the mentality of losers. Where does the rigging come into place? Zimbabwe has held one of the cleanest elections in the southern Africa region.

“We pride ourselves for having held the cleanest elections in the region.”

Cde Mnangagwa said he will work for the development of the area with projects for the youths, including cattle fattening, chicken rearing and other projects that will enhance development of the constituency.

President Mugabe and Zanu-PF romped to a resounding victory, getting 160 National Assembly seats to MDC-T’s 49, with one seat going to an independent candidate.

President Mugabe garnered 61,09 percent of the votes against MDC-T leader Mr Morgan Tsvangirai’s 33,94 percent. Three other contestants Professor Welshman Ncube (MDC), Dr Dumiso Dabengwa (Zapu) and Kisinoti Mukwazhe (ZDP) shared the remaining 4,97 percent.

Zanu-PF now dominates the National Assembly with 197 seats, to MDC-T’s 70 and MDC’s two. In the Senate, Zanu-PF dominates with 37 seats to MDC-T’s 21, while the MDC has two seats.