President approves new boards for agric parastatals 

Source: President approves new boards for agric parastatals | The Herald October 9, 2019

Elita Chikwati Senior Agriculture Reporter

President Mnangagwa has approved the appointment of the Agricultural Marketing Authority, Tobacco Research Board (TRB), Agriculture Research Council (ARC), Agribank and Silo Food Industries boards.

In a statement yesterday, Lands, Agriculture, Water, Climate and Rural Resettlement secretary, Mr Ringson Chitsiko said Minister Perrance Shiri had appointed boards of directors for some agricultural parastatals.

“His Excellency The President of the Republic of Zimbabwe Cde E.D Mnangagwa has approved the appointment of the following boards by the Minister of Lands, Agriculture, Water, Climate and Rural Resettlement, Honourable Perrance Shiri with immediate effect,” read the statement.

The AMA board will be chaired by ZimTrade chief executive officer Mr Allan Majuru, who will be deputised by Ms Tariro Muchena.

Board members are Mrs Rosemary Kanonge Nyamweda, Ms Memory Sibanda, Mr Munyaradzi Hwengwere, Major General Hlanganani Tapson Dube, Mrs Nancy Zitsanza, Ms Grace Netsai Nichols, Ms Joylin Ndoro, Mr Patrick Devenish and Mr Godfrey Matemachani.

The Agribank board will be chaired by Mr Godfrey Mutemachani, who is deputised by Mr Bevan Ngara. The rest of the board members are Ms Mirirai Apolonia Washaya, Mr Andy Farayi Hodges, Honourable C. Sibanda, Dr Jacqeline Mutambara, Ms Philomina Mandaza, Mr Somkhosi Malaba, Mr Francis Macheka, Mr Elfas Chimbera, Mrs Scholastica Mrewa and Ms Maveneka Catherine Madanda. The TRB will be chaired by Mr Stanley Mutepfa while Professor Florence Mtambanengwe will be the deputy.

Board members are Mr Philbert Mambiri, Mrs Florence Miti, Air Commodore Innocent Chiganze, Dr Dahlia Garwe, Ms Chenai Garise-Nheta, Dr Cames Mguni.

ARC chairperson will be former Department of Veterinary Service Principal Director Dr Unesu Ushewokunze Obatolu, who will be deputised by Zimbabwe Show Society chief executive officer Dr Anxious Masuka.

Board members are Ms Rumbidzai Mutamba, Professor Robson Mafoti, Professor John Masaka, Dr Adelaide Munodawafa, Brigadier General Lindiwe Ngwenya, Dr Isaiah Mharapara and Ms Nozipo Nobanda.

Silo Food Industries will be chaired by Dr Patience Siwadi, deputised by Dr Marvelous Sungirai while board members are Ms Fortunate Mkosi, Ms Noma Ndhlovu, Major General Paul Chima, Mr Rockie Mutenha, Mr Daniel Maregedze and Mrs Nozipo Nziramasanga.

The Minister also appointed Mr Howard Marowa to the PIB and Ms Philomina Mandaza as a board member of the ARDA board.

Minister Shiri recently said it was appropriate that companies have boards as they play a pivotal role in directing the operations of the parastatals.

“It is always healthy for the companies and parastatals to have boards. It is an anomaly to allow them to operate without boards given the crucial role they play in directing operations of parastatals. The agricultural trajectory faces risks and challenges which include foreign currency and cash shortages, unsustainable high budgets and current account deficits, emerging inflation pressures, slow moving re engagement processes and infrastructure deficiencies among other issues.

“Let us all take bold decisions to stimulate growth and sustainable development within the agricultural sector. Parastatals should be geared up to align to the reform processes,” he said.