Suspended Zanu PF members appeal to Khaya-Moyo

via Suspended Zanu PF members appeal to Khaya-Moyo – DailyNews Live 12 October 2014 by Chengetai Zvauya

HARARE – Zanu PF national chairman Simon Khaya Moyo’s office is flooded with appeal letters from the party members who are facing suspensions and disciplinary charges from their provincial executive committees, the Daily News on Sunday has established.

Moyo also chairs the national disciplinary committee which is responsible for hearing matters related to the party’s disciplinary issues.

As factional fighting intensifies within the party, some members have found themselves in the firing line and are being suspended by their provincial chairpersons for aligning with factional leaders.

Zanu PF is now divided into factions led by Vice president Joice Mujuru, and Emmerson Mnangagwa minister of Justice, legal and Parliamentary Affairs as the battle to succeed President Robert Mugabe intensifies.

There is also another faction emerging that is closely linked to President Robert Mugabe and his wife Grace.

Zanu PF has 10 administrative provinces which supervise the party structures countrywide and these are chaired by party’s chairpersons who report to the national chairman Khaya-Moyo.

John Mvundura chairs (Manicaland Province), Amos Midzi (Harare Province), Calisto Ndlovu (Bulawayo), Jason Machaya (Midlands), Temba Mliswa (Mashonaland West Province), Luke Mushore (Mashonaland Central), Calisto Gwanetsa (Masvingo), Andrew Langa (Matabeleland South), and Ray Kaukonde (Mashonaland East Province).

In all the provinces, there have been cases of suspensions of provincial executive members by chairpersons resulting in them approaching Khaya-Moyo’s office.

Khaya-Moyo confirmed the development.

“There is national disciplinary committee which I chair and is responsible for looking at these matters and we shall do so,” said Moyo.

“However, some of the suspensions have been dealt with by the disciplinary committee together with the politburo whilst others are still pending,” he added.

The politburo is the highest decision-making body of Zanu PF and is chaired by Mugabe.

The politburo had since ruled that the suspensions or vote of no confidence like the one passed on Mliswa were null and void.

Reuben Marumahoko, the Zanu PF MP for Hurungwe North has also appealed against his suspension from the Mashonaland West provincial executive.

Zanu PF Mashonaland West, provincial executive last month suspended Marumahoko, together with Christopher Mutsvangwa, the deputy minister of Foreign Affairs and Norton legislator.

Mutsvangwa, the provincial secretary for Information and Publicity was suspended for failing to attend provincial executive committee meetings consistently.

Marumahoko was also suspended at the same time with Zanu PF youth leader for Mashonaland West province Vengai Musengi.

Godfrey Gomwe, Harare Provincial youth chairperson was also suspended by Harare province.

In Midlands province, Zanu PF legislators Masango Matambanadzo MP for Kwekwe has a matter pending as he was involved in a fist fight with fellow legislator Owen Ncube for Gokwe-Kana.

Monica Mutsvangwa, senator for Manicaland Province has been involved in verbal fights with the provincial leadership who are making attempts to oust her from the province.

However, all the suspended members have refused to accept the suspensions arguing that the Zanu PF politburo had made a decision that all the suspensions that were made by provincial executives were to be overturned pending the party’s congress in December.