Bill Watch – Parliamentary Committees Series 1/2014 – Meetings to Analyse 2014 Budget: 14-17 January



[10th January 2012]

Post-Budget Analysis

Committee Meetings Open to the Public: Tuesday 14th and Wednesday 15th January

The Minister of Finance presented the 2014 National Budget Statement in Parliament on 19th December 2013.  Both Houses then adjourned until Tuesday 21st January.  [The Budget statement and the Estimates of Expenditure for 2014 – the “Blue Book” – are available from Veritas – see addresses below.]

MPs will spend the coming week in intensive meetings in preparation for the National Assembly debate that will commence when the Assembly resumes sitting on Tuesday 21st January.  They will start with a Post-Budget Seminar on Monday 13th January, followed by four days of portfolio committee meetings.   Each committee will analyse the Budget as it affects the Ministries/sectors that it oversees, and then prepare a report to be presented by the committee chairperson during the debate in the Assembly.

Each committee will have two meetings:

  • ·        the first meeting [on Tuesday or Wednesday] will be to analyse the Budget proposals.; this will be done with the assistance of officials of the Ministries concerned and recognised stakeholders.  This meeting will be open to the public, but as observers only, not as participants.  Details are set out below.

·        the second meeting [on Thursday or Friday and not open to the public] will be for deliberations and preparation of the committee’s report.

Note: If you wish to check on the programme, or if you are a stakeholder and wish to participate, please contact the committee clerk concerned, as listed below.  Parliament’s telephone numbers are Harare 700181/2 and 252941.  If attending, use the Kwame Nkrumah Ave entrance to Parliament.  IDs must be produced.

Meetings Open to the Public

Venue:  All the meetings listed below will be open to the public.  They will be at Parliament in Harare, entrance on Kwame Nkrumah Avenue near the corner of  3rd Street.

Tuesday 14th January from 9 am to 12 noon

Portfolio Committee: Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare

Committee Room No. 3

Chairperson: Hon Chikwama                  Clerk: Ms Masara

Portfolio Committee: Transport and Infrastructural Development

Committee Room No. 1

Chairperson: Hon Midzi                           Clerk: Ms Macheza

Portfolio Committee: Mines and Energy

Senate Chamber

Chairperson: Hon Matuke                       Clerk: Mrs Mataruka/Mr Munjenge

Portfolio Committee: Communication Technology, Postal and Courier Services

Committee Room No 311

Chairperson: Hon Chamisa                    Clerk: Mrs Mafuruse

Portfolio Committee: Finance and Economic Development

Committee Room No. 4

Chairperson: Hon Chapfika                    Clerk: Mr Ratsakatika

Portfolio Committee: Youth, Indigenization and Economic Empowerment

Committee Room No 413

Chairperson: Hon Wadyajena                Clerk: Ms Zenda

Portfolio Committee: Defence, Home Affairs and Security Services

Committee Room No 2

Chairperson: Hon C. Sibanda                 Clerk: Mr Daniel

Portfolio Committee: Small and Medium Enterprise and Cooperative Development

Government Caucus Room

Chairperson: Hon Mangami                    Clerk: Mr Mazani

Portfolio Committee: Lands, Agriculture Mechanisation and Irrigation 

Committee Room No 4

Chairperson: Hon Butau                          Clerk: Mr Chiremba

Portfolio Committee: Higher Education, Science and Technology

Committee Room No 3

Chairperson: Hon Mataruse                    Clerk: Ms Masara

Portfolio Committee: Health and Child Care

Committee Room No. 1

Chairperson: Hon Labode                       Clerk: Mrs Mafuruse

Wednesday 15th January from 9 am to 12 noon

Portfolio Committee: Local Government, Rural and Urban Development

Committee Room No. 1

Chairperson: Hon Zindi                           Clerk: Ms Macheza

Portfolio Committee: Media, Information and Broadcasting Services

Committee Room No 4

Chairperson: Hon Dehwa                        Clerk: Mr Mutyambizi

Portfolio Committee: Environment, Water, Tourism and Hospitality Industry

Government Caucus Room

Chairperson: Hon A. Ndhlovu                 Clerk: Mr Mazani

Portfolio Committee: Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs

Senate Chamber

Chairperson: Hon Majome                      Clerk: Ms Zenda

Portfolio Committee: Education, Sport, Arts and Culture

Committee Room No. 2

Chairperson: Hon Mliswa                          Clerk: Mr Munjenge

Portfolio Committee: Foreign Affairs

Committee Room No. 3

Chairperson: Hon Porusingazi                  Clerk: Mr Manhivi

Portfolio Committee: Women, Gender and Community Development

Committee Room No. 413

Chairperson: Hon Nyamupinga                Clerk: Mr Kunzwa

Portfolio Committee: Industry and Commerce

Committee Room No 311

Chairperson: Hon Kaukonde                    Clerk: Ms Masara


Veritas makes every effort to ensure reliable information, but cannot take legal responsibility for information supplied

To subscribe or unsubscribe from this mailing list please email

If you wish to contact Veritas please email

If you are requesting legislation please email or look for it on