Zanu-PF expels 7, suspends 13

via Zanu-PF expels 7, suspends 13 | The Herald May 22, 2015

Zanu-PF yesterday expelled seven more members, while 13 others were suspended for five years as the revolutionary party continues to rid itself of people linked to the sacked Vice President Dr Joice Mujuru-led cabal that sought to topple President Mugabe ahead of the 6th National People’s Congress last year.

In Mashonaland East, those expelled from the party were former provincial chairman Ray Kaukonde and former Women Affairs secretary for the commissariat Olivia Muchena, while in Masvingo former secretary for production and labour Dzikamai Mavhaire, former deputy secretary for economic affairs Kudakwashe Bhasikiti and former Central Committee member Claudius Makova were also booted out.

In Mashonaland Central, Mbire National Assembly representative David Butau and an official, Kudakwashe Gope, were also kicked out.

The expulsions and suspensions were announced by Zanu-PF secretary for information and publicity Cde Simon Khaya Moyo soon after a meeting of the ruling party’s Politburo last night.

Cde Khaya Moyo said the seven were expelled after the Politburo endorsed the recommendations of the National Disciplinary Committee.

They join Dr Mujuru, former secretary for administration Didymus Mutasa and former secretary for information and publicity Rugare Gumbo and former Mashonaland West provincial chairman Temba Mliswa who were also expelled for the roles they played in the botched attempt to topple President Mugabe.

“There are other members who have been suspended from holding any position in the party for a period of two or five years starting from January 1, 2015. All these cases are from six provinces. Mashonaland West, Matebeleland North and South and Bulawayo will be considered at the next Politburo meeting,” Cde Khaya Moyo said.

Those given five-year suspensions include former Politburo member Cde Tendai Savanhu, former Central Committee members Cdes Noah Mangondo and Munyaradzi Banda, former provincial chairman Cde Amos Midzi and former deputy provincial chairman Cde Christopher Chigumba, while in Manicaland another former Politburo member Cde Munacho Mutezo was also suspended.

In Mashonaland Central, Cde Dougmore Chimukoko, a former political commissar in Mazowe District, was also given a five-year suspension, while in the Midlands former Politburo member Cde Flora Bhuka and former provincial chairman Cde Jaison Machaya were also suspended for the same period.

In Masvingo, former provincial chairman Cde Killian Gwanetsa and former provincial political commissar Tranos Huruba were also suspended for five years while Cde Chiratidzo Mabuwa, who is the Deputy Minister of Industry and Commerce and hails from the Midlands, was given a three-year suspension.

“There are other members who were suspended for a period of two years and their names would be announced in due course,” Cde Khaya Moyo added.

Cde Khaya Moyo, however, said the Politburo had exonerated some party members who also had their cases brought before the disciplinary committee.

In Harare, the members who were found not guilty are Cdes Ratidzo Mukarate, Miriam Chikukwa, Tsitsi Jadagu, Edith Kagoro and Idah Mashonganyika while in Mashonaland Central Cdes Petronella Kagonye, Beata Nyamupinga, Paddy Zhanda and Lillian Zemura were also absolved.

Cde Khaya Moyo, however, said those suspended remained party members.

“All these people who have been suspended remain ordinary party card-carrying members, including those who are MPs. They remain ordinary card-carrying members.

“We must not think that those who have been suspended are no longer members of the party. They are just not allowed to hold positions within the period of suspensions,” he said.

Meanwhile, the Politburo endorsed Cde Terrence Mukupe as the party’s candidate for the Harare East by-election.

“The national Political Commissar (Cde Saviour Kasukuwere) gave his report on the recent and forthcoming by-elections. All is going well in the affected areas and Zanu-PF is destined for victory in all the constituencies. The Politburo welcomed the report and instructed him to review and strengthen Harare Province.

“The Politburo also endorsed Cde Terrence Mukupe as the Zanu-PF candidate in the forthcoming Harare East by-elections and directed that Cde Mavis Gumbo should withdraw her candidature,” Cde Khaya Moyo said.

The Zanu-PF spokesperson also said they received a report from the party’s Secretary for Legal Affairs, Cde Patrick Chinamasa – who is also the Minister of Finance – on the implementation of Zim-Asset.

“Cde Chinamasa gave a detailed report on measures being implemented by Government to support economic development in Zimbabwe in line with our economic policy Zim-Asset. His brief covered agriculture, mining and housing.

“His focus was on the implementation of Zim-Asset as mandated by Congress and the 2013 elections manifesto,” Cde Khaya Moyo said.

The Zanu-PF Secretary for External Affairs, Cde Simbarashe Mumbengegwi, also gave his report on the recent foreign visits.

“Cde Mumbengegwi also gave his report on the visits by His Excellency to South Africa, Asia-Africa Summit in Indonesia, Mali and his recent visit to Botswana,” he said.


  • comment-avatar
    godknows zvakare 7 years ago

    Chokwadi kamudhara aka hakachazivi zvakanoita. zvokopedza kudzinga vanhu vese mumusangano. kuda kusiya kauraya musangano zveshuwa kachifurirwa nanajonathan moyo

  • comment-avatar
    Michael 7 years ago

    It looks more and more that factionalism in ZANU-PF is like the ancient Greek mythology of the snake with many heads. Whenever one head is chopped off – five heads to be chopped off grow back.

    The question is who and how many of the ZANU-PF members are next to go?

    The source of the snake should be destroyed and that source is the looting Mugabe and his family.